A comparison

Every route to training, compared.

Sixteen programs, from a free two-day clinical training to a doctorate costing more than US$25,000. For each: the lineage, the format, the hours, the price, who may enroll, and what the provider itself says its certificate lets you do, in its own words.

Every figure was checked against the provider's own pages on September 30, 2026. Prices change, and the links are given so you can check them.

1. Start here: which of three are you?

"Logotherapist" is not a protected title, and a logotherapy certificate sits either on top of a clinical license or on its own. Credentials and lineages explains why that difference matters more than any other. Pick the line that describes you, then go to the rows it names.

I'm a licensed clinician
Your license is what lets you treat; a logotherapy credential adds method, not authority. If you work in cancer or palliative care, look first at the free MCP training at Memorial Sloan Kettering. Otherwise look at the rows whose prerequisite reads Clinicians only or Mixed (the US institute's Clinician Diplomate, SAPS, CEMAEL's Especialidad, the Sweet Institute) and at Ottawa's diploma, which carries 120 continuing-education hours; if you practice in Austria, read the Austrian box.
I'm not, and want to counsel or teach in the broad sense
You will be working as a counselor or educator in Frankl's broad sense, not treating disorders, and no certificate in this table changes that outside Austria. The most honest providers say so themselves: read the Logotherapy Online Academy's and VFI Israel's own words in the last column before you pay anyone. Then compare the rows marked Open or Education on hours, price and what each says its certificate is for.
I just want to learn
You do not need a certificate. The Viktor Frankl Institute of America's course (US$59.99), Life Change's A$50 taster and Logoforo's online diplomado each say plainly that they do not make you a practitioner. Or start free, with what to read, in order and the six written exercises.

One sentence to keep in mind while you read the table: outside Austria's two state-recognized routes, no program in it leads to a license to treat anyone. A certificate tells you what someone studied. What they may lawfully do is set by the law where they practice, which is why the Logotherapy Online Academy tells its own students that "you will need to check with the relevant authorities in your country what the legal requirements and regulations are for practicing as a therapist or counselor in your country."

2. The table

How to read it. The lineage tag uses the directory's labels: Vienna list means the body appears on the Viktor Frankl Institute Vienna's list of accredited institutes, which tells you it is recognized, not how many hours its graduates trained; US institute is the Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy in Illinois; GLE · Längle is the school Frankl left in 1991 (why). The last column quotes the provider, with the page the words come from; where a provider says nothing about what its certificate permits, we say that instead of guessing. Translations from Spanish, German, Russian and Ukrainian are ours. We have not assessed the quality of any teaching.

Sorting. Click a column heading to sort by it, and click again to reverse. Sorting by price orders the rows by the lowest course fee each provider publishes, converted to euros at the European Central Bank's reference rates of September 29, 2026, the latest published when we checked. The conversion is used only for the order; every figure shown is the provider's own. A provider that publishes only a monthly fee sorts after the others, and one that publishes no price sorts last.

Hours or duration What it lets you do, in the provider's words Link Checked
Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy (VFIL), Illinois, USA US institute Distance: "by telephone, email, or various virtual modalities" English Foundations: 5 units, 5 weeks to 6 months. Other courses: 10 units, 10 weeks to 12 months. Clinician Diplomate adds 50 hours of practice, at least 25 of them supervised, and a project finished within a year. US$450 (Foundations); US$600 for each further course; US$1,500 for each Diplomate course; credential fee US$75 (Diplomate) or US$100 (Associate); individual membership US$100 Mixed. Courses: none stated. Clinician Diplomate: "persons with a license to practice in a human service field", after the advanced course and with active membership. No statement found on what the credentials permit. The courses are "approved for Continuing Education credits by the American Psychological Association".Sources: courses, Clinician Diplomate, FAQ Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Logotherapy Online Academy (Elisabeth Lukas Archiv), Germany Vienna list (Lukas curriculum) Online: recorded video, with live webinars "on four Sundays, each for two hours" English 5 semesters; "104 hours of instruction across 223 videos" €1,050 per semester; supervision €400 a unit; conversation training €550 a unit Education. "prior education equivalent to university admission"; the academy strongly advises against enrolling while in therapy. "Although our program offers comprehensive training in logotherapy, we do not have the authority to give you the right to offer psychotherapy or counseling services."Source: logotherapy-online.com Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy in Israel (The Meaning Seeker) Vienna list Live online, groups of 5–10 English, Hebrew Introductory: 2 hours every other week. Advanced: 3 hours every other week. Diplomate: monthly. Number of sessions not stated. US$350 (Introductory); US$2,400 (Advanced); US$3,000 (Diplomate) Open. "There are no special qualifications to study logotherapy." "These are certificates, not university degrees. They attest to the person's qualification to apply logotherapy in counseling situations. They cannot qualify the person for a type of issue for which they have no prior qualification, such as working with mentally ill patients."Source: FAQ Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
SAPS, FIPLO program, Colombia Vienna list Online, plus one 40-hour in-person meeting in Bogotá Spanish 20 months; 15 online modules; 33 video classes; 40 hours in person US$4,250, excluding travel and lodging; a 30% deposit, then up to 10 interest-free monthly installments Clinicians only. "Dirigida únicamente a: Psiquiatras, psicólogos y psicoterapeutas" (for psychiatrists, psychologists and psychotherapists only). "No, la certificación no constituye un grado académico, sin embargo, está avalado por el instituto Viktor Frankl de Viena" (No, the certification is not an academic degree; it is, however, endorsed by the Viktor Frankl Institute of Vienna).Source: program page, FAQ Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Centre "Logotherapy in Central Asia", Kazakhstan Vienna list "100% онлайн" (100% online) Russian Practitioner: 360 hours over 6 months (next start Oct 1, 2026). Advanced: 1,050 hours (Jan 10, 2027). Master: 360 hours. Practical course: 340 hours (Oct 15, 2026). Ask the provider. The practitioner page says the cost is given at registration ("Уточняется при регистрации"). Mixed. Practitioner course: no special preparation required. Practical course: credentialed specialists only. "Выпускники квалификационных программ получают право на вступление в Международную ассоциацию логотерапии и экзистенциального анализа" (Graduates of the qualification programs gain the right to join the International Association of Logotherapy and Existential Analysis).Sources: home page, practitioner course Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Ottawa Institute of Logotherapy, Canada Vienna list Self-paced online, with ten 30-minute tutoring sessions English 10 modules, to be completed within two years; 5 hours of tutoring CAD 600; video access CAD 300 extra Education. "a postgraduate degree, professional registration, or an equivalent qualification" "The Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association grants 120 Continuing Education Hours upon completion". The award is an "Advanced Professional Development Diploma in Logotherapy and Existential Analysis".Source: professional development page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Life Change Therapies, Australia US institute Self-paced online, with tutor comments English Taster: "about two to three hours", with three months' access. Advanced course: four units. A$50 taster, refunded if you then enroll in a unit of the Advanced course. Advanced: A$550 a unit, A$2,000 in full, or A$90 a month for 24 months. None stated. PACFA "has accredited Life Change Therapies, Advanced Course in Meaning Centred Therapy (Logotherapy) as a Specialist Training."Sources: courses page, enrollment site Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Ukrainian Institute Viktor Frankl Vienna list Not stated on the page Ukrainian Advanced course: 330 hours 5,000 UAH a month; the number of months is not stated None stated. "Сертифікати та дипломи, які ви отримуєте після завершення наших курсів, визнані міжнародною спільнотою та надають можливість отримати міжнародну акредитацію та членство від Інституту Віктора Франкла у Відні." (The certificates and diplomas you receive after completing our courses are recognized by the international community and make it possible to obtain international accreditation and membership from the Viktor Frankl Institute in Vienna.)Source: home page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
University for Continuing Education Krems (UWK), with ABILE, Austria: MSc (CE) Psychotherapie: Existenzanalyse und Logotherapie Vienna list (Frankl lineage, "EL") On campus, part-time, Thursday-to-Sunday blocks German 4 semesters; 120 ECTS €15,600 Degree and experience. A completed university degree of at least 180 ECTS, at least two years' relevant work, and the conditions of § 10 (2) of the Psychotherapy Act. UWK "ist vom Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz (BMSGPK) für die methodenspezifische Ausrichtung 'Existenzanalyse und Logotherapie (EL)' als Ausbildungseinrichtung für das psychotherapeutische Fachspezifikum anerkannt" (is recognized by the federal ministry as a training institution for the method-specific stage of psychotherapy training in "Existenzanalyse und Logotherapie"). See Austria.Source: course page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
GLE-Österreich: psychotherapy training in Existenzanalyse, Austria GLE · Längle In person: seminars, group and individual self-experience, supervision, practicum German 72 days of seminars and group self-experience; at least 50 hours of individual sessions; at least 150 hours of group supervision; a 550-hour practicum About €27,662 in total ("Gesamtkosten ca. EUR 27.662,-", as of January 2026) Prior training. A completed psychotherapy Propädeutikum and university-entrance qualification, then intake interviews and an intake seminar. "'Existenzanalyse' ist eine vom österreichischen Bundesministerium für Gesundheit … anerkannte eigenständige psychotherapeutische Methode" ("Existenzanalyse" is an independent psychotherapy method recognized by the Austrian Ministry of Health). See Austria.Source: GLE-Ö, Psychotherapeutisches Fachspezifikum Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
CEMAEL, León, Mexico GLE · Längle In person in León: weekly (Especialidad), one Saturday a month (Coaching), Thursday evenings (Diplomado) Spanish Especialidad: 3½ years, 1,400 hours. Consultoría y Coaching: 2 years, 650 hours. Diplomado: 9 months. Ask the provider (not published) Mixed. Especialidad: a psychologist's or psychiatrist's qualification, aged 23 or over. Coaching: "Profesionistas en general" (professionals in general). Diplomado: open, including people interested in their own development. The Especialidad "está orientada a profesionales que de acuerdo a la legislación del país puedan ejercer como psicoterapeutas" (is aimed at professionals who may practice as psychotherapists under their country's law); graduates receive "el diploma final con la doble certificación de la GLE y de CEMAEL" (the final diploma, certified by both GLE and CEMAEL).Sources: home page, Especialidad (PDF) Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center: Meaning-Centered Psychotherapy training, New York Meaning-Centered Psychotherapy (Breitbart) Two-day intensive: "didactics, experiential exercises, and role-playing with actors" English 2 days Free; travel stipend US$100 (tristate area) or US$500 (from further away) Clinicians only. "providers of psychosocial care in oncology settings, including psychiatrists, psychologists, nurses, and social workers" No certification statement on the page. Up to "15.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™" and 15.50 continuing-education contact hours; "Treatment manuals and other training resources will be provided." See MCP.Source: course page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
SWEET Institute: Logotherapy Certificate Course, USA None stated "Self-Study Online Seminar" English 4 weeks US$399 Clinicians. "for any clinician"; continuing-education credit only for those licensed in New York State. "learn how to implement some of Logotherapy's principles and techniques as an adjunctive treatment for clients". A score of "at least 80% on the post-test" earns a certificate for each class, then a "final certificate of completion"; "2 CEUs for … Psychologists in New York State" and other New York licensees.Source: course page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Viktor E. Frankl Institute of America: online course (also on Udemy) Vienna list Self-paced: videos, readings and exercises English 4 weeks, 48 lessons (the Udemy version: 3 h 35 min of video) US$59.99 on the institute's course site None stated. "Please note that this is an informational course only, not a certification."Sources: Udemy course page, course site Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Logoforo Academia: Diplomado "Humanismo y Sentido", Mexico Vienna list "100% en línea", no fixed start dates Spanish 6 modules; 12 months' access US$298.50 in one payment, shown as a 50%-off "Promoción de verano" on Sep 30, 2026; or 6 monthly payments of US$132 Open. "Cualquier persona interesada en conocerse mejor" (anyone interested in knowing themselves better). "no te forma como Logoterapeuta, mas sí te brinda conocimientos y herramientas para enriquecer tu formación profesional" (does not train you as a logotherapist, but does give you knowledge and tools to enrich your professional training).Source: diplomado page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026
Graduate Center for Pastoral Logotherapy, Graduate Theological Foundation (GTF), USA Vienna list "Online Courses, Telephone Tutorials, On-Site Tutorials" English Certificate, D.Min., Psy.D. or Ph.D. The Psy.D. is "a 36 credit program" taking eighteen months to three years. Certificate US$6,000; D.Min. US$21,700; Psy.D. US$23,460; Ph.D. US$25,790 (the center's own page; GTF's general fees page gives other totals and notes that cost "may differ by degree concentration", so confirm with the provider) Degree and ministry. Certificate: a bachelor's degree and five years in paid or volunteer ministry or social service. Doctorates: a bachelor's and a master's degree, five years in ministry, and one unit of Clinical Pastoral Education or its equivalent. The Psy.D. is for students "seeking to elevate their status within the profession, rather than seeking to obtain licensure or certification", and "is in no sense designed for those seeking to enter the field of counseling." Graduates "are qualified to become accredited individual members of the International Association."Sources: Psy.D. page, center page Visit ↗ Sep 30, 2026

Corrections to this table: hello@logotherapist.com. Every correction we make is dated and logged on the corrections page.

3. Austria: the two state-recognized routes

Austria is the one country in this table where logotherapy-descended training leads to a protected clinical title. In the Vienna Institute's words: "Der Weg zur Erlangung des Berufstitels 'Psychotherapeut/in' ist durch das Österreichische Psychotherapiegesetz geregelt" (the route to the professional title of psychotherapist is governed by the Austrian Psychotherapy Act). Two separate methods descended from Frankl are recognized for the method-specific stage of that training, the Fachspezifikum, and they are not the same thing.

"Existenzanalyse und Logotherapie" (EL): the Frankl lineage

Taught by ABILE in Melk and by the University for Continuing Education Krems (UWK), with ABILE, the Viktor Frankl Institute and the Viktor Frankl Zentrum as partners. UWK's MSc (CE) runs four semesters part-time, carries 120 ECTS, costs €15,600 and is taught on campus in Thursday-to-Sunday blocks. Admission needs a university degree of at least 180 ECTS, at least two years' relevant work and the conditions of § 10 (2) of the Psychotherapy Act. UWK is recognized by the federal ministry (BMSGPK) "für die methodenspezifische Ausrichtung 'Existenzanalyse und Logotherapie (EL)' als Ausbildungseinrichtung für das psychotherapeutische Fachspezifikum". The Vienna Institute's own page on training in Austria names ABILE and UWK for this stage.

"Existenzanalyse": GLE, the Längle lineage

GLE-Österreich describes its method as "eine vom österreichischen Bundesministerium für Gesundheit … anerkannte eigenständige psychotherapeutische Methode" (an independent psychotherapy method recognized by the Austrian Ministry of Health). The training asks for 72 days of seminars and group self-experience, at least 50 hours of individual sessions, at least 150 hours of group supervision and a 550-hour practicum, after a completed Propädeutikum. GLE-Ö puts the total at about €27,662 as of January 2026. This is the school whose honorary chairmanship Frankl resigned in 1991; the split is explained here.

Two things follow. These two programs lead to a license only in Austria, and only as part of the full route the Act lays down. And until September 30, 2026 our own credentials page said GLE's was the only such route. It was wrong, and the correction is logged.

4. Free, and the best-evidenced: MCP training at Memorial Sloan Kettering

Meaning-Centered Psychotherapy, developed by William Breitbart at Memorial Sloan Kettering, is the Frankl-derived treatment with the strongest trial evidence behind it: small, real, replicated effects, as the evidence page sets out. It has no credential, certificate or register. It does have formal training, and the training costs nothing.

What the course page says

  • Cost: "Free." A travel stipend of US$100 for residents of the tristate area, or US$500 for those from outside it.
  • Format: "The two-day intensive MCP trainings are held throughout the year", using "a combination of didactics, experiential exercises, and role-playing with actors."
  • Who may apply: "providers of psychosocial care in oncology settings, including psychiatrists, psychologists, nurses, and social workers. Applicants must meet eligibility criteria to participate."
  • Credit: up to 15.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and up to 15.50 continuing-education contact hours.
  • Materials: "Treatment manuals and other training resources will be provided."
  • Funding: a National Cancer Institute grant, 1 R25 CA 190169.

The page makes no claim that the course certifies anyone, and we found none. For a clinician in cancer or palliative care it is the obvious first step: free, manualized, and tied to the trials.

Sources (all fetched September 30, 2026)

Corrections to this table: hello@logotherapist.com. See corrections.

What a credential means.

The distinction every row above depends on: a logotherapy credential on top of a clinical license, or one on its own.

Credentials and lineages →